How To: Ju Jitsu

A five-step guide to Harvard-Westlake’s only martial art.

An Art of Self-Defense

Ju-Jitsu’s primary function is a means of self-defense. Those who participate in the martial arts, called Ju-jitsukas, are trained to use good judgement and self-restaint in their confrontations and will use violence only as a last resort to bring a situation under control. Moves in Ju-Jitsu fall in five defensive categories: striking, throwing, strangulation, joint locking and pressure points.

Five Ju Jitsu Defensive Categories:

1. Striking

How it works:

In Ju-Jitsu there are many different katas for each defensive category. A kata is a form, and the kata above, Atemi Kata, is one of the striking defenses.

  1. The defender receives a blow from the attacker.
  2. The dfender then grabs the attacker’s arm that delivered the blow and strikes the attacker in the face.
  3. After pushing down on the attacker’s head, the defender puts his hand on the shoulder of the arm that delivered the initial blow.
  4. The defender then pushes down on the attacker’s shoulder, sending the attacker to his knees.
  5. The dfender delivers a kick to the attacker’s stomach.

2. Throwing

How it Works:

The dfender grabs the attacker’s belt and moves next to the attacker. Next, the dfender squats with his back to the attacker’s chest. The defender pushes up with his legs so that the attacker rolls onto the ground.

3. Stangulation

How it Works

The defender grabs the lapel of the attacker’s gi (his robe), closing in a loop around the attacker’s neck and cinches it tightly.

4. Joint Locking

How it Works:

The defender grabs the wrist of the attacker trying to deliver a blow: The Defender applies pressure to the attacker’s outer elbow. “The elbow-lock is so easy because I only need to apply pressure to the already extended arm”. Emiliano Rios #07 said.

Ju Jitsu Things You Should Know

Comprehensive Approach:

Unlike many populat martial arts, such as Karate of Taekwondo, Ju-Jitsu does not focus exclusively on striking techniques but incorporates a wide variety of moves that attempt to put opponents off blanace in bringing them to submission.

Earning a higher belt:

Belt colors begin at yellow, and after eight grade levels Ju-Jitsukas can earn their black belt, a process that typically takes four years. Each Ju-Jitsuka must pass an examination in order to move on to the next grade level and earn a new belt colour.

The Rules:

Ju-Jitsu is based around individual achievement and is not a head-to-head sport. During tournaments, Ju-Jitsukas are judged on how well they defend and control a series of attacks apropriate to their current grade level. Sutdents are given a score from 0-12 in each of four categories – response to attackers, from, variety of defenses and apperance – for a total possible score of 48.

5. Pressure Points:

  • Ears
  • Under Jawbone
  • Under Armpit
  • Inner Wrist
  • Inferior Cervical Ganglion
  • Groin
  • Knee (Rear)
  • Ankle
  • Inside Thigh
  • Sciatic Nerve

How it works:

Pressure points typically used in combination with other techniques, are designed to elicit a specific response, such as head jerk or an involuntary recoil.

Ju Jitsu



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *